Click Iogo to learn more.

Click Iogo to learn more.
Fiction by Norwegian Women

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Where My Birthmark Dances by Octavia McBride-Ahebee

My new poetry collection, Where My Birthmark Dances, is now available for purchase. This book is published by Finishing Line Press. The shipping date is July 23, 2011. Please support me now and buy my book. I will keep you informed of the book release party as well as my upcoming readings.  You may click here to purchase the book:

Lillian Dunn,editor of Apiary Journal, in describing this collection states:

             The Ancient Romans used to call a person's creative spirit her "genius," and recognized the labor of setting it free as one of love and sacrifice. Octavia McBride-Ahebee's latest collection is just such a labor. Her poems depict human longing, love and dignity in the context of global inequality with fierce, uncompromising grace. As her characters speak, she creates indelible sensory images of loveliness and affection, profound misery and anger, letting each co-exist on the page. The resulting complexity of tone makes space for nuanced and compelling human voices that might otherwise be categorized as  "victims" or "villains" of oppression. It takes the full use of genius to notice and capture these contradictions, and a deep social conscience to care so passionately about writing them down. This collection is one of McBride-Ahebee's "bighearted magnolia trees," its trunk scarred by the fire of sacrifice, its blossoms and branches so beautiful you don't want to leave their shade.

No comments:

Post a Comment